Read Full Article here… lifehacker.com

Screenshot: David Murphy Back in the good old days, we encouraged you to consider deleting your Facebook account because of privacy breaches that left your personal information vulnerable to nefarious bad actors the world over. And we can all still agree that isn’t great. But the last new years have given us many more reasons to want to wash our hands of the internet’s most omnipresent social network, not the least of which was a whistleblower’s recent accusation that the company notably incentivized the dissemination of misinformation on its platform because it was more profitable to do so . Data hacks are bad, but fueling the fires of hatred and bigotry—and promoting a distrust of evidence-based science during a pandemic—is arguably worse. So delete Facebook already. This checklist will tell you how to go about it. How can I quickly delete my Facebook account? Deleting your Facebook account is easy— too easy. But I’m unconvinced that the process actually does everything you want it to do. Yes, your account goes away and people can’t tag you in things anymore. Yes, Facebook should delete all the data you’ve associated with your account. But does it really do that? Really ? I’m cautiously optimistic. According to Facebook, deleting your account means: “You won’t be able to reactivate your account. Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added. You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger. […]