Read Full Article here… lifehacker.com

Photo: Temitiman (Shutterstock) WhatsApp’s Disappearing Messages feature has been quite limited so far—once enabled for a particular conversation or a group, all messages would be deleted automatically after seven days, but with no room for additional customization, or a default setting for all chats. Now, Meta has two new improvements that round out the Disappearing Messages feature. First of all, you can now choose a 24-hour or 90-day timeframe for deleting messages. And, more importantly, you can enable Disappearing Messages for all conversations going forward with a single switch. Here’s how both of these features work. How to automatically delete all new messages in WhatsApp WhatsApp now lets you set a default message timer for all new messages. Open WhatsApp after updating to the latest version and head over to Settings > Account > Privacy > Default Message Timer . Here, choose between the “ 24 Hours ,” “ 7 Days ,” or “ 90 days ” timeframe. Once enabled, all new messages will start disappearing after the set time (for both parties). This setting won’t affect existing messages. Screenshot: Khamosh Pathak We would like to point out that Disappearing Messages is a good security feature, but not a privacy feature. Within that 24 hour span, the messages that you send and receive will still be available. And in that timeframe someone can take a screenshot or forward the message. If you want to send sensitive photos, you’re better off using the View Once feature . We’ve also covered […]