Read Full Article here… lifehacker.com

Image: Apple iOS 15.2 is filled with features big and small . Along with features like Digital Legacy and App Privacy Report, comes a feature we’ve been waiting years for; the ability to completely erase and reset a locked iPhone without needing to connect it to a Mac or PC first. This new feature will come in handy if you or someone you know has forgotten their password. If you’ve already tried to enter the passcode a couple of times, your iPhone will lock you out for a while, and you’ll see a Security Lockout screen. Previously, resetting or erasing an iPhone in this position was convoluted. If you were locked out of your iPhone, you had to put your iPhone in DFU recovery mode, and then restore it via iTunes on Windows, or Finder on the Mac. Now, however, you’ll be able to reset your iPhone by tapping a little “Erase iPhone” button in the bottom-right corner. This works for iPad and iPod Touch, as well. There are still restrictions to erasing a locked iPhone To do that, however, your device needs to be connected to a wifi or a cellular network. Plus, this is not a free pass to deactivate Activation Lock. You’ll still need the Apple ID and password that were used to set up the device—so it’s not a free pass to reset stolen iPhones, thankfully. How to reset or erase a locked iPhone The process is quite simple: Wake the iPhone up and enter […]